Login Register

Wolves close in on club record

By Black Country Bugle  |  Posted: February 27, 2014

By Steve Gordos

  • Derek Dougan – a hat trick on his home-ground debut came in one of Wolves' eight win runs

  • Kenny Jackett could be about to add his name to an elite list of Molineux managers

Comments (0)

WOLVES are three-quarters of the way towards equalling a club record that was first posted 99 years ago.

The 3–0 victory over Brentford at Griffin Park last Saturday took the winning run by Kenny Jackett's team to six games – two short of the best ever in Wanderers history.

Four times a Wolves side have strung together eight League wins in a row and, surprisingly none of them was under the managership of the club's legendary managers, Stan Cullis and Frank Buckley.

The first eight-timer was in 1914-15 when Jack Addenbrooke, as club secretary, was in charge of the team.

It came towards the end of the campaign and was too late to make an impact in the Second Division promotion race as the team finished fourth. During the run, diminutive winger Sammy Brooks scored eight times and centre-forward Frank Curtis seven. The latter had been signed from Llanelli at the start of the season and ended top scorer with 25 goals.

Half a century would pass before a Wolves team again reeled off eight League wins in a row. Again it was in the Second Division but this time it did help seal promotion in 1966–7 for the team managed by Ronnie Allen.

The fifth game of the run saw the arrival of a Molineux legend – Derek Dougan. He made his debut in a 1–0 win at Plymouth and famously hit a hat-trick against Hull on his home debut a week later.

The winning gallop was ended by a 1–1 draw at Millwall where the Doog got the equaliser. When a fan ran on to the field it was not to add his congratulations but to aim a punch at the centre-forward. The young man landed in court where he escaped with a fine.

Under Graham Turner, Wolves twice chalked up eight victories on the bounce, the first being in the Fourth Division in 1986–7, his first season as boss.

Steve Bull was outscored during the run with Jon Purdie, Andy Mutch and Robbie Dennison each contributing three goals while Bull collected two. It was ended by a 1–0 defeat at Southend and that proved crucial as the Shrimpers pipped Wolves for automatic promotion. Wolves then missed out in the play-offs.

A season later Wolves made amends by going up as Fourth Division champions and when in 1988–9 they then won the Third Division title, eight wins in a row in the first half of the season saw Bull score ten goals and Mutch six.

On Saturday Wolves will be trying to take their winning sequence to seven when Port Vale visit Molineux.

Victory would then leave Jackett's team needing to beat Walsall at the Banks's Stadium a week later to gain a place in Wolves history.

FOOTNOTE: The longest winning sequence in English league football is 14 games, achieved by Arsenal (end of 2001–2, start of 2002–3), Preston (1950–1), Bristol City (1905–6) and Manchester United (1904–5).

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters