Login Register

A Proud Double for Wobaston

By rob taylor  |  Posted: January 19, 2012

The double winners 53 years ago.

Comments (0)

HERE is another Corke Cup response, following the photograph in a recent addition (1004) of the Wobaston winners of the trophy in 1963.

Tony Roddis writes... “I attach a photograph of the Wobaston senior school team of 1958/59 which won the double that year, ie.

the league title and also the Corke Cup.

“Back row, from left: Alan Evans, Mr Golby (Head teacher), Nicky Grant, Eric Timmins, Wayne Lloyd ,Graham Pearson, Mr Priest (Sports teacher), Stan Smith.

Front Row, from left: Keith Ashby, Alan Hughes, Alan Stanley, Ron ? (sorry Ron), then me Tony Roddis..

“We played Bushbury Hill School in the cup final with us winning 1-0, I was lucky to score our winner.

“Kindest regards, Tony Roddis 01902 843939 or troddis@ gmailcom” Tony has also supplied an older photograph is of the Elston Hall Junior School team of 1954/55, which will publish soon.

Read more from Black Country Bugle

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters