Login Register

J W Hunt Cup for charity is now in 88th year

By Black Country Bugle  |  Posted: February 15, 2014

Comments (0)

IN reply to the Bugle reader's interesting letter about the J.W. Hunt Cup of its first year when it was started, 1926.

The photograph of The Great Western Railway (G.W.R.) football team, which was published in The Bugle recently, was one of the first (original) teams that first entered this Charity Cup competition, together with St Patrick's F.C., The Harrows, Tarmac, Short Heath, Bradmore St Philips, Hayward's F.C., Upper Ettingshall, L.M. & S. Railway, Shifnal, Vaughans, A.J.S. FC, Fox of Shipley, Sunbeamland F.C., Butler Sports, G.W.R. I AND II, Bradley Pims F.C., Wolverhampton Gas Bridgnorth, Chillington, Cannon Iron, Union Works, Lilleshall and Blackenhall St Luke's.

The reader was correct to mention about the first final that was played on the Molineux in front of over a 1,000 spectators when Short Heath Utd beat Cannon Iron 2-0.

All the 24 teams I have mentioned were the original first teams to enter this competition that raises money each year for the Beacon Centre (Sedgley) for the Blind and it is now in its 88th year.

Wilf Ellis,

9 Seaforth Grove,


Read more from Black Country Bugle

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters